Free online spiritual and religious texts

Book of Vladimir Antonov "Forest Lectures on the Highest Yoga"

“... God-the-Father is not a flying old man. He is the Primordial Consciousness immeasurable in Its vastness, filling the whole universal space in His Abode and not anthropomorphic at all. He is really infinite.”

Home > Books > Forest Lectures on the Highest Yoga > Foreword


What is God
"Primordial Consciousness that dwells in the deepest and the subtlest primary plane of the multidimensional Universe..."
What is man
"Man is... consciousness, i.e. living energy, capable of self-awareness and that possesses mind and memory..."
The meaning of life
"The question of the meaning of one’s life gets inevitably raised before any man who matures in his/her development..."

See also:

Names of God
Explanation of the meanings of the word GOD and its synonyms used in different languages.


The evolutionary path of every human soul consists of stages. One cannot come to spiritual Perfection all at once.

Since ancient times, there exist methods for development of the body with its energy structures and the mind, and then — for development of the consciousness. We can find such methods in all advanced traditions of spiritual culture.

Patanjali described in detail the stages of such an ascent in his Ashtanga Yoga.

There is also the following scheme of spiritual training in the psychoenergetical aspect of development: Hatha Yoga — Raja Yoga — Buddhi Yoga.

Here, Hatha Yoga is a preliminary stage, which allows one to improve the health of the body and to learn basic skills of concentrating the mind and moving the consciousness within the body.

Raja Yoga is a system of methods for cleansing and development of the chakras and main meridians. That is, the work on this stage is performed within the body and the energy cocoon around the body.

And Buddhi Yoga is a system of methods for developing the consciousness outside the body — when the consciousness becomes free from the “fetters” of matter, moves in the multidimensional space, and learns to communicate directly (not through the bodily organs of sense) with Divine Teachers — Holy Spirits.

Mastering the stage of Raja Yoga can lead one to Samadhi: a high emotional state of Bliss, which occurs from a contact of an individual consciousness with God in the Aspect of the Holy Spirit (Brahman).

On the stage of Buddhi Yoga, one cognizes Nirvana (Mergence with the Divine Consciousness and “dissolution”, disappearance of the individual “I”) in Brahman and then in Ishvara (the Creator, God-the-Father, the Primordial Consciousness).

Let me note that the Sanskrit word yoga means the same as the Latin word religion. One should interpret both of these terms as the Path of spiritual development — up to direct personal cognition of the Creator and Mergence with Him.

In this book, we discuss mainly the higher stages of this Path, that is the stages of Buddhi Yoga.


[Home] [Spiritual Books] [Lectures] [Religious Texts] [Spiritual Poems] [Q&A] [Spiritual Glossary]