Free online spiritual and religious texts

Book of Vladimir Antonov "Spiritual Heart — Religion of Unity"

Home > Books > Spiritual Heart — Religion of Unity > The Evolution of the Universal Consciousness

The Evolution of the Universal Consciousness

Universal space is inhabited by living self-aware energies, called souls, spirits, or consciousnesses. “Lumps” of some of them are small, some bigger, while others are large. But there is also the largest Consciousness that occupies the entire boundless universal space. This is the Creator, Who is also called God-the-Father, Jehovah, Savaof, Allah, Ishvara, Tao, Primordial Consciousness, Adibuddha, etc.

Non-incarnate consciousnesses of different levels of evolutionary advancement abide in different layers of multidimensional space, which in the Greek language are called eons, in Sanskrit — lokas, etc. These layers range by the level of their subtlety-coarseness. This can be likened to radio waves of different frequencies which do not interfere with each other, although still existing within the same volume of space.

Such layers of multidimensional space have borders, which resemble a partition plane between transparent oil and water poured in the same glass vessel. This is how the borders between some eons really look like.

In the deepest layer of the multidimensional universal Ocean of the Absolute, there resides the United Consciousness of the Creator; this is the layer of the subtlest Consciousness. At the opposite end of the subtlety-coarseness scale there are layers inhabited by devils and demons — by the coarsest souls; this is hell.

Thus, there are numerous layers-eons between the two ends of this scale. Throughout their individual evolution, units of consciousness (souls) move from one layer to another in both directions, finding their abode either in hellish eons, or in paradisiacal, or in intermediate ones. But we have to strive to get into the subtlest eon, which is called the Abode of the Creator and is located deeper than paradise.

The Life of God consists in His Evolution, i.e. continuation of the positive development of His Universal Organism.

This is the reason why He creates material worlds in various parts of the universe and then settles tiny particles of His energy into organic bodies on planets, which are suitable at the particular time for the existence of the latter. These particles should grow and merge back into Him and enrich Him in the end. Their growth starts on the crystalline lattices of minerals, continues in the bodies of plants, animals, and then those of humans.

Each of us has come through a multitude of incarnations in the process of personal evolution — before arriving in the current human body. And our task for now is to make maximum efforts in order to become worthy of Mergence with the Creator in His Abode.

It is clear to us now how we should love God, is not it?

We have to do everything we can to attain Perfection ourselves and to merge into Him, also to help other people in doing this.

We advance towards Perfection by means of:

— ethical transformation of ourselves according to the commandments given to us by God; the first of them is cultivation of love for all living beings and for the Creator,

— refinement of ourselves as consciousnesses so that we can move into more subtle eons — away from hell and closer to the Abode of the Creator.

— intellectual self-development: accumulation of knowledge about the most important, training the thinking abilities, intellectual creativity, etc.,

— developing the power aspect of the refined consciousness, which is directly proportional to the size of its “lump”,

— development of the ability to merge with God.

An individual consciousness has the ability to increase quantitatively (to grow). It grows in the course of incarnations as it enters material bodies of increasing size. But at the human stages of the evolution of an individual soul, this growth is accelerated if one leads an intense life in different areas: physical labor, intellectual work, healing, etc. But there are also special (esoteric) methods of acceleration of the quantitative growth of the consciousness that consist in various types of meditative trainings. These trainings are especially effective if conducted in combination with athletic exercises and on special places of power.

One must remember that an increase of the size and power of a coarse consciousness will make a devil out of the person and will determine a quite “stable” life in hell for him or her. It is only growth of a refined consciousness that has real value.

What, then, leads to the coarsening of the consciousness and what — to the refinement of it?

There are both external and internal factors. Among the former is the introduction of certain kinds of energy into the organism from outside: either coarse or refined. For instance, eating bodies of killed animals, prolonged stay inside coarse energy fields generated by coarse people, by negative places of power, by powerful voltage transformers, and by other similar sources — all this coarsens the consciousness. On the contrary, communication with refined people, getting attuned to the subtlest phenomena of living nature and with works of art, with Divine Teachers — contributes to refinement of the consciousness.

But what is even more important in this process are the individual’s own emotions. Emotions are nothing else but states of the consciousness. They are generated in special energy structures of the human organism — chakras. (Electric processes registered in the brain merely reflect these states, since the brain does not generate them but only takes part in the processing and transferring of corresponding information to various organs of the body and layers of the multidimensional human organism, as well as between the consciousness that lives in the material body and the outer environment).

All emotions and their nuances can be ranged along the subtlety-coarseness scale.

To coarse emotions belong all manifestations of anger (from the emotions of condemnation and irritation — to fury), also fear (from anxiety to terror).

Subtle and the subtlest emotions are represented by all kinds of love, especially by tenderness (including sexually-colored one). It is not by chance that the New Testament contains many statements on this theme: “Be brotherly loving one another!” (Rom 12:10), “Greet one another with a holy kiss!” (2 Cor 13:12), etc. (See more details in [6,10]).

As for the control of one’s own emotions, any attempt to hold back anger or to force yourself to kiss people whom you do not love would be very ineffective. A radical solution to this problem can come through practicing methods of psychical self-regulation, based on influencing the reflexogenic zones of the emotional-volitional sphere (chakras and some main meridians). Among these are the methods developed in our scientific spiritual School [6-8,11].

The most important reflexogenic zone of the human organism is the anahata chakra. It is in this chakra that the spiritual heart begins to develop and to then grow outside of the material body.


[Home] [Spiritual Books] [Lectures] [Religious Texts] [Spiritual Poems] [Q&A] [Spiritual Glossary]